Year Group Curriculum Overviews

Our aim for teaching and learning curriculum at Layton Primary School is that children are given opportunity to excel in all areas. We offer a broad and balanced curriculum whereby we encourage children to think deeply and richly within the subjects which they study.

We teach the National Curriculum in all subjects incorporated into a bespoke critical thinking curriculum whereby children are exposed to ‘big questions’ where they are encouraged to analyse, reason, evaluate, make decisions and problem solve using the knowledge that they have learned. We value rich and deep thinking and will engage children in tasks to dveelop their thoughts and apply their knowledge.

There is an ambitious curriculum for each and every one of our pupils which aims to develop their abilities in each area.

A high standard of achievement is encouraged in all subjects believe in their abilities, we are ambitious for all of our children and it is appreciated that some children experience difficulties and wherever necessary, additional support is provided and given. Some children will be identified as having Special Educational Needs (SEN) and in partnership with Parents and Carers, we will be brought to the attention of our SENDCO (Special Educational Needs and/or Disabilities Coordinator).

Religious Education

Religious Education is based on critical thinking whereby each half term the children are presented with a reflective question to provoke thought and discussion about different religions.


During assemblies, children learn about British Values as part of our moral, social, spiritual and cultural curriculum. The chosen Modern Foreign Language (MFL) is French which is taught throughout KS2. The PSHE and RSE curriculum are taught as stand alone lessons and through other subjects to explore cross-curricular opportunities. 

Goevernors have approved the implementation of Health and Sex Education. This is not taught as a separate subject but is integrated in with the National Curriculum programmes of study.


Blackpool Music Service provide opportunities for the children to access a range of intstrumental tuition in drums, violin, keyboard and recorder. There is an active pupil and staff choir.

Termly Overviews

Please view below the termly overviews each year group, for 2023-2024.

If you require more information, or wish to know about topics covered in class, you can contact the school via the office or message the class teacher on Class Dojo.

Foundation Stage

Year 1

Year 2

Year 3

Year 4

Year 5

Year 6

error: Content is protected !!