Curriculum Overview

Layton Primary School is made up of Early Years Foundation Stage, Key Stage One and Key Stage Two.

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is made up of Nursery and Reception (ages 3 to 4 and 4 to 5). At our school we don’t have a Nursery and therefore the only year group in EYFS is Reception.

Our EYFS Leader is Miss Kennell. To find out what our children are learning please click here. Further information about our induction process can be found in the school brochure.

Key Stage 1 covers Years 1 and 2 after Foundation Stage. The children in these two classes will be 5 to 6 and 6 to 7 years of age respectively and it is at the beginning of Year 1 that children begin work on the National Curriculum. A new National Curriculum came into force in September 2014.

Our Year One leader is Mrs England, our Year Two leader is Mr Shepherd, and Mrs Catherine Rollinson is the Assistant Head for Foundation Stage and Key Stage One.

Key Stage 2 covers Years 3, 4, 5 and 6 and the children in these classes continue to study the National Curriculum.

Our Year Three leader is Mrs Nutt and our Year Four leader is Mrs Harrison.

Our Year Six leader is Miss Domics and presently Year Five is overseen by Mr Marshall, Assistant Head.

Mr Liam Marshall is KS2 Assistant Head.

To find out what the children are learning about in Key Stages 1 and 2 please click here.

Find out why National Curriculum levels no longer exist by clicking here.

Download a free parents guide to the New National Curriculum.

Parentapps Connect

Our free communication app allows us to provide parents with instant access to our important messages and up to date school information.

Please contact the school office if you have not received your personal invite.

Deferring school opening to the wider school community

Dear Parents I hope you continue to remain well. Last week, I wrote to all parents in Reception, Year 1 and Years 6 to explain our position in relation to wider opening from June...

75 Years – VE Day

75 years on - Remembering VE Day Our children were full of wonderful creativity when they remembered VE Day, both in their writing, art and with their family. Sophie in year 6...

Apple Coding Film

Apple are producing two films from their time with us, click the Apple logo below to watch the first film…

Apple Distinguished School

We are delighted to announce that we have been selected to continue to be an Apple Distinguished School for 2019-2022…


Special Educational Need Provision